The Waterside Series
Of Canoe Races

Organised by: Newbury Canoe Club

Sponsored by: Marsport
With grateful help from Adventure Dolphin and Devizes Canoe Club

You are on the Home Page

Home Page

Old Results


Future Dates

Weil's Disease




2014 Results
A Cancelled
B Results
C Results
D Results
S Results

** Race A Start sheets ** Plea for HELP **


Series & Race A Entries Closed.
We will no longer accept any more Series or Race A Entries.

We are accepting Race B, C & D entries only.

Race A Start Sheets
Race A start Sheet and Start Window Chart. It is important that all
Faster Start window crews DO NOT arrive in Great Bedwyn before 10:30
This split window has worked well to ease the congestion in Great Bedwyn
and also along the course

We are planning to introduce a similar start scheme for the other Races as well

ICE has been witnesed in the Mornings but gone in the fternoon
With Colder Spells still likely these conditions are likely to persist.

We are short of Help to run this event, can I ask for any volunteers to assist in any of the following areas.
Starters, Road Crossing Marshals, Finishline.
If you are a large Club or Organisation that are entering can you also
- consider supplying a Road Crossing Marshal (18+)
More details and information to follow.
Please email me Clive on:

Online Payments!
Please read the following guidlines before making your payments online.

2015 Dates & files
Race A: 8 Feb -- Great Bedwyn to Newbury
Race B: 22 Feb - Newbury to Aldermaston Warf and Return
Race C: 8 Mar -- Pewsey to Newbury
Race D: 22 Mar - Devizes to Newbury

2015 Entry Form (MS Word [.docx])
2015 Rules
2015 Information Sheet
2015 Online Banking Statement

2015 Entry Form (MS Word 97-2002 [.doc])
2015 Entry Form - Please use only if you don't have MS Word [.pdf] Fill in by hand LEGIBLY

Support Crew Etiquette
Paddling Etiquette
Waterways Code Leaflet
Team Nomination Form
Most files are PDF - use the Email address below if you can't read PDF format files.

2014 Files
RACE B Results
RACE C Results
RACE D Results
Series Results

2013 list of Records broken (2014 Comming Soon)
RACE A: K2 Junior Ladies - Isobel Smith & Megan Middleton [Fowey/BCCC] 2:03:37 (New Class)
RACE A: K1 Senior - Tim Pendel [Norwich] 2:03:37 (12yrs, 17seconds)
RACE B: K2 Junior Ladies - Isobel Smith & Megan Middleton [Fowey/BCCC] 2:37:50 (1yr, 2:30)
RACE B: K2 Mixed - Steve Baker & Lizzie Broughton [Richmond] 2:12:10 (21yr, 5:39)
RACE D: K2 Mixed - Steve Baker & Lizzie Broughton [Richmond] 4:40:19 (16yr, 4:10)
RACE D: K1 Junior - Sam Plummer [Leighton Buzzard] 4:52:48 (14yrs, 2:47)
SERIES: K2 Mixed - Steve Baker & Lizzie Broughton [Richmond] 11:44:09 (2yr, 48:17)
SERIES: K1 Junior - Sam Plummer [Leighton Buzzard] 12:17:47 (14yrs, 3:43)
SERIES: C1 - Tom Fryer [Hemel Hempstead] 15:09:01 (18yrs, 5:30)
2013 saw some longstanding records fall but there are still 3 Records dating back to 1988 or 1989 !!!

Waterside 2015 Series Details

The Waterside Series of Marathon Races comprises of four races held on the Kennet and Avon Canal in the Spring.
They are organised by Newbury Canoe Club and sponsored by Marsport.

The dates for the 2015 Waterside Series of races are:-

Race A 8th February 2015Great Bedwyn to Newbury13.5 miles 21 portages
Race B 22nd February 2015Newbury to Aldermaston & Back17.5 miles 19 portages
Race C 8th March 2015Pewsey to Newbury23 miles 35 portages
Race D 22nd March 2015Devizes to Newbury34 miles 35 portages

The Waterside Series is recognised as being the classic build up for the Devizes to Westminster Race.
However. the Waterside Series offers its own challenge, and to complete the series is an achievement in itself.

There are 13 classes:-

K2 SeniorK2 VeteransK1 JuniorJunior/Vet
K2 JuniorK2 MixedK1 LadiesC2
K2 LadiesK1 SeniorK1 VeteranC1
K2 Junior Ladies

There are prizes for each race, and the Series Trophies are awarded at the end of the fourth race, to the crew who has completed all 4 races in the fastest total time in each class.

In addition there are Series Senior, Junior & School team events, for any combination of 3 to 8 paddlers in a minimum of 3 boats.

Other Series trophies are:-

Services TrophyFor the fasted crew (in any class) representing a Uniformed Service
Keith Donkin CupFor the fastest K1 Veteran Master, male or female (over 50 on 1st January of year of race)
Junior Ladies K2 Trophy
presented by Kimbolton School
For the fastest Junior Ladies K2
School Teams Trophy
presented by the Schools Canoeing Association
For the fastest team in the Junior Team Event representing a school.
John Baggs Trophy
presented by Bedford School
For the fastest Junior C2
Lyn McLaren Trophy For the fastest Junior Mixed K2
SKB Award For the fastest Masters K2 (both paddlers over 50 on 1st January of year of race).

Contact Information

Race Organiser: Clive Williams

Send completed entries to:

Waterside Series Entry,
Mike Richman,
35 Kingsley Close,
RG14 2EB

Cheques written out please to: Newbury Canoe Club
( please refer to the Online Banking Statement if considering paying via this method )

Race day Emergency / Retirement Contact number: 07507 173145 (Only to be used on each race day)



<Return to the top of the page>

Last modified: January 10th 2015


Free Website Counter
Free Website Counter